The History of the IACC

The International Anti-Corruption Conference was held for the first time in 1983 in Washington, D.C. Subsequent conferences have been held every two years. The 9th IACC was held in Durban, South Africa. More than 1600 delegates from 135 countries took part.


1st IACC Washington 1983
2nd IACC New York 1985
3rd IACC Hong Kong 1987
4th IACC Sydney 1989
5th IACC Amsterdam 1992
6th IACC Cancun 1993
7th IACC Beijing 1995
8th IACC Lima 1997
9th IACC Durban 1999
10th IACC Prague 2001


The idea for such a conference first arose among a number of anti-corruption law enforcement agencies, including Hong Kong's Independent Commission Against Corruption, the Inspector General for the District of Columbia (Washington D.C.) and the New York City Department of Investigation. While the initial focus of the conference was on law enforcement issues and the development of successful strategies and tactics for deterring and investigating official corruption, the scope of the conference quickly grew to include the entire spectrum of stakeholders in the effort to combat corruption and fraud throughout the world. The IACC became the premier global forum for the networking and cross-fertilisation that is indispensable to effective international and national advocacy and action against corruption and to progress in this area. It brings together an international cross-section of those responsible for containing corruption in their own societies and those with a stake in the success of their efforts. The success and value of these conferences has gained wide international attention.

Invitation for the 11th International Anti-Corruption Conference

History of the IACC